My Favorite Books of 2016

a-brunette_reading_woman_girls_book_skirt-20391

Heeeeey kind-of dormant blog! I still remember i have you! To be honest, this blog has been pretty quiet lately because I’ve been deep into a re-reading marathon. nothing really sounded good on my TBR bookshelf, so I went back into my older books.

Really quickly, here is what I’ve been re-reading:

  • The Gentlemen Bastard series by Scott Lynch. (One of my favorite series!)
  • The Hobbit/Lord of the Rings. (I re-read these every year)
  • The Dresden Files series by Jim Butcher

But this post isn’t about *those* books! This is about my favorite books I read last year. This isn’t all books published last year, just my favorites that I read!

 

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

91hvgvo-tl

This book was just delightful. I liked it from start to finish, I was utterly charmed by it. It is very much a fairytale but a really cute, endearing one. Plus it takes place in a bookstore which happens to be one of my favorite places in the world.

Hamilton: The Revolution by Lin Manuel-Miranda

hamilton

An amazing look behind the scenes at one f the best new Broadway shows! I have become slowly obsessed with the musical Hamilton ever since i first picked up the cast recording. this book is a great way to immerse yourself in the complexities of the musical itself and what it actually took to get it onstage.

This might be as close as I ever get to seeing the original cast and its an amazing up-close look at it. This is full of great profiles of many of the main cast and a look a the support players. The pictures are amazing as well.

 

The Aeronaut’s Windlass by Jim Butcher

jimbutcherAeronaut

I wrote a review of this book (for this blog even!), but I loved it greatly. to quote myself:

I love the whole steampunk aesthetic and I love the idea of airships.  The idea of the book is that society has moved off the planet and now lives completely up in “spires” which are gigantic towers made of stone. People use airships to travel up and down the spires (and also travel to other spires), with the richest and most well off at the top and the poorest closest to the ground. Captain Grimm is one such captain of an airship named Predator and when he has a run-in with a bigger ship that leaves him grounded on Spire Albion waiting for repairs, the Spire is attacked by another,Spire Aurora. Thus starts WAR! Captain Grimm and a band of allies are charged with finding out where a conspiracy starts (and who is involved). Unbeknownst to everyone an old evil is maneuvering and pulling the strings on its puppets for mysterious purposes….

The naval airships with their awesome battles in the mists were the highlight of the book for me. They were very well written. I’ve read other books with airship battles that left me confused and ultimately cold to the story as a whole, but these were thrilling and fast-paced.

Butcher also has a great way of making things very tense and exciting that I really like.

I found this book to be a fast read and I am really looking forward to the next book and the rest of the series.

The Hum and the Shiver by Alex Bledsoe

humandshiver

I love Alex Bledsoe’s Eddie Lacrosse series so I picked this up on a whim one day, and I wasn’t disappointed!  I really loved this book. I like books about fairies, The Fae, etc. quite a bit but I was looking for something unique, and I think I found it inside this book.

The story is pretty simple, yet it is really compelling. As the first in a series, I expected it to be sort-of clunky and full of world-building exposition, but I was happily surprised. The is world-building but it doesn’t get bogged down in minutiae which I liked a lot


 

There you go! As I said, I didn’t really read too many books this year and what I did read was older books and series I had already read once.

I look forward to new amazing books to read in 2017!

images

my Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/2057281-sarah

 

Leave a Reply

