A is for Alibi by Sue Grafton

AisforAlibi

This is an older review I wrote ages ago copied and pasted from my Goodreads account. Posted now to make up for the fact that I am just in a reading slump! I am close to finishing several new books, but my desire to read is low. I blame the awesome weather we are having right now that is keeping me outside and with friends more. The writing here is not my best but hopefully you can overlook that fact! 🙂

I probably would have actually given this book a 2 1/2 stars if it was possible, but I can’t. While I enjoyed it overall, I felt like there was something missing.

I picked up these books because around 5 friends have been pushing hard for me to read this series. I thought the mystery was a good one. I was interested all the way until the end. I was slightly disappointed that I figured out whodunit pretty early on. That is part of why i wanted to give it 2 1/2 stars, I never felt the sort of suspense I’m used to when reading mysteries. To be a really great mystery in my eyes, I want to be kept guessing about the killer. The fact that I figured out who was responsible pretty early on really dampened my enthusiasm for the book.

For those who are unaware, this book was originally published in the 80s. So, no cell phones, no (widespread) internet, no Google. It is pretty interesting in a historical kind of way to see how the main character solves the crimes in an “old-Fashioned” kind of way. Several times while reading I even thought to myself, “why doesn’t she just Google it?” Which I suppose goes to show how much we rely on technology these days!

I found Kinsey really lacking as a protagonist. She was really unlikable to me, but I can’t really place why. Her internal monologues can get really annoying, and I was super disappointed in some of her choices in the novel. I felt that she should have known better about some of the things she did, and should have definitely seen the end coming. I actually got pretty frustrated with her as a character many times. Sorry to be vague but I don’t want to spoil it for anyone else.

Although I liked the book, it felt really flat while reading it. Nothing really got me excited or pulled me into the book. I would still recommend the book to people who like mysteries, and I hope that this was a case of it being the first book. Hopefully they start to get more interesting!

Leave a Reply

