NaNoWriMo Blog #2- The First Week

Participant-2014-Web-Banner

So, one week is finished. How do I feel? Pretty OK actually. I have been writing around 2,000 words every day and am on track to finish this thing by the end of the month. It has been most surprising to me just how easy I am finding all of this. Granted it is only the first week so it is hardly a huge accomplishment to some. I have many friends who have done this almost every year, some finish some don’t but they always have a great time trying. And that is ultimately why I wanted to try it out. They have so much fun doing it every year, even during the hard spots, that maybe I should give it a shot.

Writing (1)

“The first draft of anything is shit” says Ernest Hemingway, or at least that is what the internet tells me (and it never lies, right?). That is what I keep telling myself. It is a tale of revenge and of a girl just coming into her magical powers….then they fight? I don’t know, I have only mapped out the beginning of the book so far. Someday soon I’l map out the rest and i will have a pretty good road map for the rest of November. They always say “write what you know” and I changed that a bit to “write what you like”. What I like is revenge stories and science-fiction with some fantasy thrown in there. So that is what I am doing.

Now, is it the most perfect novel ever written? A rival to the greats like J.R.R Tolkien and Hemingway? HA! Of course not. It is riddled with spelling errors, comma splices, and terrible grammar. The plot meanders, the characters range from 2 dimensional cardboard people to, maybe, 3 dimensional workable characters. But that is OK! This isn’t supposed to be the next great american novel. At least not just yet, without some serious work after November.

stop-writing

But I have 13223 words so far, the most I have ever written on anything except papers for school. Finally I am writing something for myself rather than for a grade, and I love it! So here is to a successful NaNoWriMo! For me and everyone else who is participating!

Leave a Reply

