The Palace Job by Patrick Weekes

 

thepalacejob

This book was alright. I think I read it too close on the heels of “The Lies of Locke Lamora” and I was perhaps all heist-ed out. Short summary of the storyline:

Loch is seeking revenge. However, unfortunately she is stuck in jail. No problem. She, with the help of her friend Kail, manage it with some slight issues/future problems left in their wake. Her plan is to steal a priceless elven manuscript that once belonged to her family. SO she assembles a crack team of oddballs to help her in her plans (as you do). Loch must do all of this while on the run from basically everyone: Justicars, regular guards, wielders of magic, the elves themselves, and basically the entire government. What could possibly go wrong?

The characters were pretty well written and I didn’t have too many issues with any of them, although I did feel that could be kind of flat sometimes. I was never really super invested in why the main character, Loch, wants to ruin the most powerful man in the Republic. I understand why and everything but it never drew me in as far as I wanted it to.

I liked all the members of the party, they were funny and sometimes touching and I wanted to see them succeed. I really wanted to like this book more than I did. Like I said, I feel I read this too close to “The Lies of Locke Lamora” and therefore didn’t give it a fair shake. I’ll probably re-read it somewhere down the line to see if it plays out better for me.

Leave a Reply

