Exploring J.R.R Tolkien’s The Hobbit by Corey Olsen

exploringTolkien

I really, really liked this book. I have read The Hobbit many times since I first picked it up in the 6th grade and it is always a good time. I liked looking at it from a more in-depth and, maybe, scholarly perspective.

Corey Olsen takes an in-depth look at the themes and ideas that make up The Hobbit. As he goes through the book chapter by chapter, you (or at least I) forge a stronger connection to a story that seems quite simple on the surface. AT it’s heart “The Hobbit” is a simple tale of a simple Hobbit leaving his safe home in the Shire and finding out he is braver than he ever suspected.

I first read this story in the seventh grade, on recommendation of a librarian. I loved it from the first moment until the last. By reading it, I discovered in myself a love of adventure that has never waned I quickly received the Lord of the Rings books for Christmas and The Silmarillion not long after. My love of all things Tolkien continues to this day.

I’ve been a fan of Corey Olsen since I found his podcast series (the Tolkien Professor). HE is endlessly fascinating and I am always interested in his analysis. He has brought a whole level of new understanding of Tolkien to my life and I am forever grateful. He brings his brand of good humor and interesting, in-depth looks into the world of The Hobbit and doesn’t disappoint.

I think any fan of Tolkien, or Corey Olsen, should check out this book.

(Also, checkout his podcasts, they are really awesome!)

Leave a Reply

