The Blade Itself by Joe Abercrombie

Image

I thought this book was a lot of fun to read. I liked the story progression and the characters were all very interesting, with flaws and character arcs that had me angry, sad, gleeful, and appalled. That is the mark of a good character for me… do I hate them but still find them intriguing? Am I genuinely interested to see how their story plays out? Do I immediately want to rush out and get the rest of the series (if applicable)? This book was a yes on all counts.

“Logen Ninefingers, infamous barbarian, has finally run out of luck. Caught in one feud too many, he’s on the verge of becoming a dead barbarian – leaving nothing behind him but bad songs, dead friends, and a lot of happy enemies. 

Nobleman, dashing officer, and paragon of selfishness, Captain Jezal dan Luthar has nothing more dangerous in mind than fleecing his friends at cards and dreaming of glory in the fencing circle. But war is brewing, and on the battlefields of the frozen North they fight by altogether bloodier rules. 

Inquisitor Glokta, cripple turned torturer, would like nothing better than to see Jezal come home in a box. But then Glokta hates everyone: cutting treason out of the Union one confession at a time leaves little room for friendship. His latest trail of corpses may lead him right to the rotten heart of government, if he can stay alive long enough to follow it. 

Enter the wizard, Bayaz. A bald old man with a terrible temper and a pathetic assistant, he could be the First of the Magi, he could be a spectacular fraud, but whatever he is, he’s about to make the lives of Logen, Jezal, and Glotka a whole lot more difficult. 

Murderous conspiracies rise to the surface, old scores are ready to be settled, and the line between hero and villain is sharp enough to draw blood. Unpredictable, compelling, wickedly funny, and packed with unforgettable characters, The Blade Itself is noir fantasy with a real cutting edge.”

All of the characters interested me, and I was seriously involved with what they were going through. Logan Ninefingers was my favorite with Glokta following in second. Logan was seriously trying to be a better man, but can he outrun his past transgressions? Glokta was intriguing from start to finish. he was depressed, cynical, and hated everyone….my kind of character!

This was one of my favorite books I read in 2009, and I would recommend it to everyone I know! Joe Abercrombie just keeps getting better and better as a writer and I’m genuinely excited to see where he heads next.

Leave a Reply

